Project restore points serve the purpose of opening a project in one its of earlier stages.
- If a project contains invalid data, after e.g. a power failure (laptop battery), then the project is still in the project overview, but it will be grayed out, which means that it can no longer be opened for editing, the solution in such a case is to use one of the restore points in order to make the project available again for editing
- The location for the restore point is defined by the 'Project Store' setting
- The total maximum number of restore points can be defined (default = 8)
- Project restore points concern always local copies of the project, i.e. they cannot be shared with others user, i.e. projects can only be shared with other users via ETS project archive
Project archive serves the purpose of storing projects on a central server, and to share with other ETS user.
- If a project is accessed by a ETS user then
- a local copy will be made
- on the server it will locked for any other user
- The location for the project archive is defined by the 'Project Archive' setting.
- The archive functions are available via the context menu of the selected project from the 'Your Projects' and/or 'Project Archive' list:
- Add to Archive.
- Delete from Archive.
- Check-Out: ETS gets the project from the server & locks it for other users.
- Undo Check-Out: the currently checked-out user releases the project back for other users.
- Force Undo Check-Out: the project is currently checked-out by another user, but will be released for other users anyway, use this with care because work of the currently checked-out user will be lost.
- Check-In: ETS puts the local copy on the server & releases it for other users.
- Check-In and keep Checked-Out: ETS puts the local copy on the server first & keeps it then locked for other users, this is to sync the server with the local copy.
- Get local copy: ETS gets the project from the server, but it cannot be checked-in.
- Force Check-In: the project is currently checked-out by another user, but will be overwritten by the local version anyway, use this with care because work of the currently checked-out user will be lost.