For security and other reasons, modern operating systems allow working with different user accounts on the same computer. If such accounts are created, each user has, among others, his/her own storage space to save user-specific data such as created documents and program-specific settings for installed tools.
ETS also stores some user-specific data, which is only accessible if the corresponding user is logged on. The tables shown below list all ETS-specific data and the meaning of the storage location.
|Project/Product Memory Default Path||Changeable (also to user-specific destination); invisible if another user is logged in.|
|Online Catalog Data||The product database entries shown in the selected settings (from the KNX Online Catalog), but not the update interval.|
|Path for Printable Labels and Logos||The path and the templates contained there are changeable (also to a user-specific destination, but then invisible if another user is logged in).|
|ETS Update Data||Updates are not user specific; after a successful update, all users work with the same ETS version.|
|Troubleshooting Log Files||
Log files are user specific, e.g. in order to determine problems with access rights.
|Project Templates||Saved project templates as well as those created by users with the help of the project assistant.|
|ETS User Interface||Size/position of the ETS main window, including the Import Wizard; Size/elements of the Status Bar, Configuration of the main toolbar; context toolbar (e.g. enabled buttons); window configuration/ column width/positions (e.g. on a second monitor). These settings can be reset in the Troubleshooting menu.|
|ETS Channel Data for Products||
Channels created manually or automatically by ETS for devices.
User-specific settings are not deleted during a deinstallation (this is also the Microsoft policy).
- Deinstallation can only be performed using administrative rights and would mean that, if ETS was also installed on the PC for several other users, data (= User Settings) in other user accounts on the computer would be deleted. In such a case, if only the data in one’s own user account were to be deleted, a complete deinstallation from the entire PC leaving no traces is not possible. The more significant problem for a complete deinstallation would be the deinstallation of plug-ins, which would also be necessary. For these, the respective individual plug-in deinstallation routines would have to be called with all the consequences for data retention (plug-ins sometimes save local project data and these projects would no longer be usable without a prior backup).
- When a re-installation is performed at a later date, the old, user-specific settings can be applied.